Earth to Earth

Porcelain  2008

Porcelain
2008

??????????????????????????????????????????????????????????????????????????????????????????????????????????????????????????????????????????????????????????????????????????????????????????????????????????????????????????????????????????????????????????????????????????????????????????????????????????????????????????????????????????????????????????????????????????????????????????????????????????????????????????MOM_0081MOM_0088??????????????????????????????MOM_0300MOM_0313MOM_0361MOM_0372MOM_0357MOM_0368MOM_0353MOM_0262MOM_0126

When I was about to go out in a rush, I was astonished by a withered rose in the vase. It was still in full bloom yesterday, how come it suddenly withers and falls? I slowed down my pace and wondered... Isn’t our life as magnificent as the rose? It lasts for a few decades but slips away like the cloud. Our life is full of joy and sadness. We have been pursuing personal fame and wealth. We have a lot to love, to hate and to cherish… and finally they all pass away with us, earth to earth, dust to dust. So why don’t we value each moment to make our life easier and happier? This rose is made of porcelain. Sculpturing on its petals are different facial expressions: pleasure, anger, sorrow and joy. Through this work, I try to reflect what we are experiencing in our life, which will ultimately wither, fall and pass away like the petals.

When I was about to go out in a rush, I was astonished by a withered rose in the vase. It was still in full bloom yesterday, how come it suddenly withers and falls? I slowed down my pace and wondered…
Isn’t our life as magnificent as the rose? It lasts for a few decades but slips away like the cloud. Our life is full of joy and sadness. We have been pursuing personal fame and wealth. We have a lot to love, to hate and to cherish… and finally they all pass away with us, earth to earth, dust to dust. So why don’t we value each moment to make our life easier and happier?
This rose is made of porcelain. Sculpturing on its petals are different facial expressions: pleasure, anger, sorrow and joy. Through this work, I try to reflect what we are experiencing in our life, which will ultimately wither, fall and pass away like the petals.

 

About Johnson Tsang

Sculptor based in Hong Kong, China
本篇發表於 Uncategorized。將永久鏈結加入書籤。

20 則回應給 Earth to Earth

  1. Samo 說道:

    beautiful!! Great Work!

  2. Alexis 說道:

    When I first saw the broken stem, I thought it was damaged and was immediately saddened thinking such an amazingly detailed piece of work was ruined. Once I saw the rest of it and realized it was intentional, I was blown away by how much talent and effort went into the details of the withering parts and my amazement was multiplied tenfold.

  3. Ed 說道:

    Johnson, I have never seen such detailed work before. This is something to behold. Your description is also quite beautiful. Thank you for sharing.

  4. pizzuti 說道:

    Incredible work, beautiful!

  5. Creatividad, impresionante en los detalles, el es todo un maestro.

  6. Silv & KH 說道:

    Burial of a rose.

    Interesting concept and wonderfully made.

    I would always be hesitant to intentionally destroy my art.

  7. royalleowolf 說道:

    Wow. I’m so glad I found your work! It’s absolutely incredible! Keep it up! (And do you ever sell your work?)

    • Johnson Tsang 說道:

      Hi,

      Thank you very much for your compliments!

      “A Painful Pot” is for sale. Yet, I try not to sell it at the moment because I’m going to have a solo exhibition at the Taiwan Yingge Ceramics Museum during 7 Dec 2013 to 19 Jan 2014. This work has been selected as one of the exhibits. If you wish to purchase “A Painful Pot”, would you consider buying it after my solo show?

      This solo show will feature my latest creations. I will post more of the exhibits on my blog and Facebook after the show has started.

      If you find it is not too late for you, I can provide you the price of “A Painful Pot” during the exhibition.

      Johnson

      • Mia Silman 說道:

        Dear Johnson,

        I am also interested in purchasing " A Painful Pot". I’m fine to wait until your solo exhibition is over. If there are too many people who wish to buy it, perhaps you can consider an auction? Otherwise, I will be very interested to know the price.

        thank you
        Mia

  8. Vodka Barf 說道:

    This has genuinely moved me. It’s masterful in its execution and just a marvelous piece to think about. Thank you.

  9. Simon 說道:

    Unbelievable talent you have there. I’ve never wanted to own art of any kind but I’d buy everything you made.

  10. littlecitybot 說道:

    found you via an imgur post (yours?) and holy crap, i don’t even have any words to sum up the noises/faces i made while scrolling through this. absolutely phenomenal work. unreal. happy i found this! following!! x

  11. Bette 說道:

    Absolutely in awe of the artistry and talent, magnificent.

  12. KatrinaH23 說道:

    So awesome! Poetic pieces you have there.

  13. Cecilia 說道:

    Your work is so amazing, you are so talented! Will you be having any exhibitions in New York?

  14. Dan 說道:

    Breath taking…

  15. Tanzeel Shah 說道:

    Do you have a website where you sell your art?

  16. 通告: Critical Analysis of the Work of One Designer. | charlieabbas

發表迴響

